Day 127: My Long Lost Sister

For this post, I want to talk about my sister, my long lost sister. Long lost because we haven’t been close for almost ten years, I knew where she is, who she got married to and so on but we weren’t in touch. When I was in college, she had a quarrel with my parents and never kept in touch with any of us. She went and work at Singapore, married and stayed there until now. Until the time I had a surgery for my tumor, she heard of the news and came to Kuala Lumpur with her husband to see me. We hugged for the first time in 6 years. That’s 2012.  1996 photo, my mom, my sister and I.

Then life became too busy for us to really keep in touch. In the end of 2014, situation brought us back into contact again, this time, my father had stroke. Up to recently, we have been talking often on the phone and through messages. I found out that my sister isn’t well. She had series of strange and sudden headaches, numbness that’s been haunting her for almost 2 years, and her doctors hasn’t given her any answers even after 3 MRIs. That made me really angry. She spent so much time and money yet still suffering with bad and horrible headaches. I feel bad for not being there for her. Even though we weren’t as close as most siblings are, both of us were adopted and she’s 10 years older than me but, she’s still my sister, and I love her. I realized that now. It’s not about the distance or circumstances but we do have the good moments and memories. It takes a person to initiate actions and interactions. I didn’t make enough of those with my sister. After a decade, I miss her and I don’t want to waste any more time. 

After listening to her ordeals with incompetence doctors, I suggested her to come to Kuala Lumpur to see my neurosurgeon for second opinion. My doctor is quite well known in South East Asia, in the field of neurology, I really hope he will be able to help her. After all, my surgery and all the follow ups I have with this doctor help a lot. I wouldn’t be here without his expertise.

I’ll be making a booking for my sister so she can arrange to come here. This is for my sister. 

Leave a comment